July 2017 Bar Exam Filing Deadlines
Filing Deadlines to apply or re-apply for the July 2017 Bar Exam:
Absolute Filing Deadline: March 30, 2017
Special Filing Deadline for applicants awaiting results from the February 2017 Bar Exam: May 30, 2017
Note: If you applied for the February 2017 Bar Exam but you withdrew from the exam, did not sit for exam, or did not sit for each segment of the exam, then the Absolute Filing Deadline applies to you.
MPT Questions Now Available
We have posted MPT questions from past exams on the Selected Answers page of our website. We will post the February 2017 MPT question when it becomes available in May.
BLE Website Unplanned Service Interruption
ATLAS account users may have recently experienced difficulty accessing or utilizing the Board of Law Examiners website due to unplanned server maintenance required to respond to security issues. The Board of Law Examiners apologizes for any inconvenience and regrets that the service interruption was necessary to maintain website security. In some cases, it may be necessary to re-enter data or material uploaded to ATLAS. Contact Technical Support, or your Licensure Analyst if further assistance is required.
February 2017 Bar Exam
We have posted the February 2017 Texas Essay Questions and Procedure and Evidence Questions at Bar Exam--Past Exams.
We will post selected answers to these questions at a later date.
Fee Change, beginning with July 2017 Bar Exam
The Supreme Court of Texas has approved a change to the fees set out in the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas as follows:
Rule XVIII - Fees
The following provisions shall govern the fees charged by the Board:
FEES RELATING TO DECLARATIONS
Declaration Investigation Fee $150
Fingerprint Card Processing Fee $ 40
Late Filing Fee $150
Fee for Check Returned for Insufficient Funds $ 25
FEES RELATING TO ELIGIBILITY & EXAMINATIONS
Texas Law Student:
$150 Application Fee
95 Examination Fee
75 55 Investigation Fee
Out-of-State Law Student:
$150 Application Fee
40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee
95 150 Examination Fee
This equalizes the bar exam related fees for Texas law students and out-of-state law students. Fees for Texas law students now total $490 (a $190 fee for the Declaration of Intention plus a $300 fee for the bar exam), and fees for out-of-state law students to sit for the bar exam are also $490.
This change affects applicants for the July 2017 Texas Bar Exam. The Court's order is published here.
Supreme Court Order regarding UNT Dallas College of Law
On December 13, 2016, the Supreme Court of Texas signed an order providing that “any person who has graduated from, satisfied all requirements for graduation from, or has completed all but four semester hours at UNT Dallas College of Law, and who meets all other eligibility requirements in the Rules, is eligible to take the Texas Bar Examinations offered in July 2017, February 2018, and July 2018.”
Pursuant to the order, all UNT Dallas College of Law students have until February 15, 2017, to timely-file a Declaration of Intention to Study Law.
In addition, UNT Dallas College of Law students who are otherwise eligible to take the July 2017 Bar Exam have until February 15, 2017 to timely-file a bar exam application.
After February 15, 2017, the filing deadlines and late fees in the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas will apply to all UNT Dallas College of Law students.
These students may now create ATLAS accounts and submit Declarations and Bar Exam applications through this website.
For information about becoming a proctor for the Bar Exam, please see Employment Opportunities.
July 2016 Selected Answers Now Available
The July 2016 Selected Answers are now avaiable on our Selected Answers page.
July 2016 Bar Exam Pass List
We have posted the July 2016 pass list here.
Sunset Commission Review
The Sunset Review of the Texas Board of Law Examiners
The mission and performance of the Texas Board of Law Examiners are under review by the Legislature as required under the Texas Sunset Act. The Act provides that the Sunset Commission, composed of legislators and public members, periodically evaluate a state agency to determine if the agency is still needed and to explore ways to ensure that the agency's funds are well spent. Based on the recommendations of the Sunset Commission, the Texas Legislature ultimately decides whether an agency continues to operate into the future.
The Sunset review involves three steps. First, Sunset Commission staff will evaluate the Board of Law Examiners and issue a report in April 2016 recommending solutions to problems found. A month or so later, the Sunset Commission will meet to hear public testimony on the agency and the recommendations of the Sunset staff. Based on public input and the Sunset staff report, the Sunset Commission will adopt recommendations for the full Legislature to consider when it convenes in January 2017. Please refer to the Sunset Commission website or call the office for updated information on specific dates for these meetings.
Through the Sunset review, every Texan has the opportunity to suggest ways in which the mission and operations of the Board of Law Examiners can be strengthened. If you would like to share your ideas about the Board of Law Examiners, please send an email to the address below, use the comment form on the Sunset Commission website, or contact Sean Shurtleff of the Sunset staff. Suggestions are preferred by December 18, 2015, so they can be fully considered by the Commission staff.
Sunset Advisory Commission
P.O. Box 13066 Austin, Texas 78711
512/463-1300 Fax: 512/463-0705
Information about the Sunset process, Sunset Commission meetings, and how to receive Sunset Commission email updates is available at: www.sunset.texas.gov.