Texas Bar Examination Filing Deadlines--General
|Examination Dates||Registration Opens||Timely Deadline|
Late Filing Deadline* ($150 Late Fee)
Final Filing Deadline ($300 Late Fee)
|February||June 30||September 1||November 1||December 1|
|July||December 2||February 1||April 1||May 1 (Extended to June 1 for July/September 2020)|
* Note: Applications for Testing Accommodations under Rule 12 must be filed with a Bar Exam Application, but no later than the Late Filing Deadline.
Special Filing Deadlines** For Applicants Awaiting Results from the Most Recent Texas Bar Exam
Special Filing Deadline
|February||December 1||No late fee, and the Bar Exam Application may be accompanied by an Application for Testing Accommodations under Rule 12.|
|July||June 1||No late fee, and the Bar Exam Application may be accompanied by an Application for Testing Accommodations under Rule 12.|
**If you applied for the most recent Texas Bar Exam but you withdrew from the exam, did not sit for exam, or did not sit for each segment of the exam, then the Special Filing Deadline does not apply to you. The Special Filing Deadline only applies to applicants who are awaiting results from the most recent Texas Bar Exam.
Declaration of Intention to Study Law Deadlines (Texas law students only)
First-semester law students at Texas law schools ("entrants") must file their Declarations according to the deadlines set out in Rule 6(b). Failure to do so will result in a late fee as set out in Rule 18. Late filing Declarants may file at any time prior to or concurrent with the filing of their In-State Application.
An application or declaration is considered timely filed if we receive the following on or before 11:59 p.m. Central Time on the filing deadline date:
(1) A substantially completed application
(2) A certification or verification
(3) An authorization and release
(4) All required fees (or a request to waive those fees due to indigency)
Materials Transmitted through ATLAS. An application or other materials transmitted through ATLAS are received at the time of transmission (as recorded by ATLAS), even if the transmission does not occur during business hours. For example, an item transmitted through ATLAS on Sunday, November 1 at 11:59 p.m. Central Time is received on Sunday, November 1.
Materials Transmitted through the U.S. Postal Service. Materials mailed through the U.S. Postal Service are received on the postmark date. If materials have no legible postmark, then they are received on the date that they are actually delivered to staff at the Board’s office during business hours.
Materials Delivered by Private Courier or In Person. Materials sent by private courier (FedEx, UPS, etc.) or in person are received on the date that they are actually delivered to staff at the Board’s office during business hours.
Deadlines are strictly enforced. No applications will be accepted after the Final Filing Deadline for any reason.