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process anew in accordance with the Board order recommending such 
termination or revocation if the person wishes to attempt re-licensure. 
 

Rule XVII 
Issuance of License Certificates and Cancellation of 

License Unlawfully Obtained 
  
 (a) Upon an Applicant’s becoming entitled to a license under these 
Rules, the Board must certify the Applicant to the Supreme Court, whose 
Clerk will issue the corresponding license in the form of a written 
certificate.  The license may be issued only in the name shown on a valid, 
government-issued identification card, except that a given name may be 
omitted or represented by an initial if the Applicant so requests in 
writing.  No license may be issued using an alias, assumed name, 
nickname, or abbreviation of a name. 
 (b) All law licenses are issued on the condition that the Applicant has 
faithfully complied with these Rules.  If at any time it appears that an 
Applicant has obtained a license fraudulently or by willful failure to 
comply with these Rules, after notice and hearing, the Board may 
recommend to the Supreme Court that the license be withdrawn and 
canceled, and the name of the license holder stricken from the roll of 
attorneys. 
 (c) No license issued under this Rule is valid unless the license holder 
has paid the required fees and has enrolled in the State Bar of Texas in 
compliance with the State Bar Rules. 
 (d) The license certificate belongs to the Supreme Court of Texas and 
must be surrendered to the Court upon proper demand. 

 
Rule XVIII 

Fees 
 (a) The following provisions shall govern the fees charged by the 
Board: 

FEES RELATING TO DECLARATIONS 
 

Declaration Investigation Fee .................................................................. $150 
Fingerprint Card Processing Fee .............................................................. $  40 
                                                                                                   $190 
 
Late Filing Fee  .................................................................................... $150 
Fee for Check Returned for Insufficient Funds ........................................ $  25 
 

FEES RELATING TO ELIGIBILITY & EXAMINATIONS 
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Texas Law Student: 
      $150 Application Fee 
             95 Examination Fee 
             55 Investigation Fee 

        $300 
 
Out-of-State Law Student: 

         $150 Application Fee 
             40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 
           150 Examination Fee 

          150 Investigation Fee 
        $490 
 
Attorneys Licensed in another State: 

        $700 Application Fee 
            40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

         150 Examination Fee 
         150     Investigation Fee 
    $1,040 
 
Attorneys Qualified for Admission Without Examination Under Rule XIII: 

        $700 Application Fee 
            40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

         150 Investigation Fee 
       $890 
 
Foreign Nation Attorney – Texas Bar Exam Applicant only: 

         $700 Application Fee 
             40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 
           150 Examination Fee 

           150 Investigation Fee 
           100 Foreign Nation Inquiry Fee   

     $1,140 
 
Foreign Nation Attorney – Concurrent Texas Bar Exam and  
Foreign Legal Consultant Applications: 

         $700 Application Fee 
           150 Foreign Legal Consultation Supplemental Processing Fee 
             40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 
           150 Examination Fee 

           150 Investigation Fee 
           100 Foreign Nation Inquiry Fee     

     $1,290 
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Re-application for Examination 
    $150 Re-application Fee 
        95 Examination Fee 
           75 Investigation Fee on Re-Application 
       $320 
 
Foreign Legal Consultant – Application only: 

        $700 Application Fee 
            40 Fingerprint Card Processing Fee 

          150 Investigation Fee 
         100 Foreign Nation Inquiry Fee 
       $990 
 
Foreign Legal Consultant Re-Application Fee: 
       $150 Re-Application Fee   
         150 Supplemental Investigation Fee 
  (every second renewal year only)    
       $300 ($150 in alternate years) 
 
Supplemental Investigation (S.I.) Fee (as required under Rule IX)… ....... $150 
Fingerprint Card Processing Fee… ........................................................... $  40 
                                                                                                   $190 
 
Military Attorney Application Fee............................................................ $  25 
(as required under Rule XXII) 
Military Attorney Renewal Application Fee ............................................. $  25 
(as required under Rule XXII) 
 
Miscellaneous Fees: 

  Late Filing Fee… .............................................................................. $150 
  Fee for Check Returned for Insufficient Funds… ............................ $  25 
  MBE Transfer Fee… ......................................................................... $  25 
  Application Deposit Fee1… .............................................................. $  30 
  Incompleteness Fee2… .................................................................... $  75 
  Laptop Examination Fee… ............................................................... $  50 

 

                                                 
1 One deposit fee shall be credited toward the filing fee if the application is filed within one (1) year of the date the 

deposit is received. 
2 This fee shall be imposed when a document (Declaration, Application, Supplemental investigation, etc.,) is 

received, for the second and subsequent times, which is determined to be incomplete (e.g., unanswered questions, 

not signed, not notarized, incorrect fees, etc.). 
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 (b)   No refund or transfer of fees will be made in the event of the 
withdrawal of any Declaration or Application, nor in the event a 
determination is made by the Board that the Applicant or Declarant does 
not meet the requirements imposed under these Rules. 
 (c)   Any fee required under these Rules may be waived or lowered by 
the Board upon written request and proof of indigence. 

 
Rule XIX 

Requirements for Participation in Texas Proceedings 
by a Non-Resident Attorney 

 
 (a)   A reputable attorney, licensed in another state or in a foreign 
jurisdiction but not in Texas, who resides outside of Texas may seek 
permission to participate in the proceedings of any particular cause in a 
Texas court by complying with the requirements of Texas Government 
Code Section 82.0361 concerning payment of a non-resident attorney fee 
to the Board of Law Examiners as a mandatory initial requirement.  Upon 
completion of this requirement and receipt of an acknowledgment issued 
by the Board of Law Examiners, the non-resident attorney shall file with 
the applicable Texas court a written, sworn motion requesting permission 
to participate in a particular cause.  The motion shall contain: 
    (1)  the office address, telephone number, fax number, and email 
address of the non-resident attorney movant; 
    (2)   the name and State Bar card number of an attorney licensed in 
Texas, with whom the non-resident attorney will be associated in the 
Texas proceedings, and that attorney’s office address, telephone number,  
fax number, and email address; 
    (3)  a list of all cases and causes, including cause number and 
caption, in Texas courts in which the non-resident attorney has appeared 
or sought leave to appear or participate within the past two years; 
    (4)  a list of jurisdictions in which the non-resident attorney is 
licensed, including federal courts, and a statement that the non-resident 
attorney is or is not an active member in good standing in each of those 
jurisdictions; 
    (5)   a statement that the non-resident attorney has or has not 
been the subject of disciplinary action by the Bar or courts of any 
jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed within the preceding five 
years, and a description of any such disciplinary actions; 
    (6) a statement that the non-resident attorney has or has not 
been denied admission to the courts of any State or to any federal court 
during the preceding five years; 
    (7)    a statement that the non-resident attorney is familiar with the 
State Bar Act, the State Bar Rules, and the Texas Disciplinary Rules of 


