Foreign Legal Consultant Application and Renewal
Review Rule 14. This information is not a substitute for reading the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas and the relevant sections of the Texas Government Code, which can be found in the Board's Rulebook.
Foreign Legal Consultant (FLC) Application
Pursuant to Rule 14, the Supreme Court of Texas may certify certain foreign-trained applicants to practice in Texas as Foreign Legal Consultants.
It is your responsibility to carefully read the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas, in particular Rule 14, to determine whether you qualify for certification as an FLC. We cannot give any advisory opinions, nor can any determination of eligibility occur before an application is filed.
Do not apply to be certified as an FLC if you do not meet the requirements of Rule 14. Per Rule 18(b), fees are not refunded or transferred.
The fee to apply for FLC is $990. Fees are not refunded or transferred.
Basic Steps to Applying for FLC
- Create a personal ATLAS account on this website.
- From your ATLAS account, click to Start New Application, and select the Foreign Legal Consultant application.
- Confirm that you want to apply as a Foreign Legal Consultant and answer the preliminary questions.
- Complete and submit your FLC application and pay the required fee.
- Upload all other required documents. Keep originals on hand—you must mail them to us upon request.
- Arrange for third parties to provide documents to us.
- Update your mailing address, email address, and all other information as needed while your Application is pending.
Certificate of Good Standing (CGS) and Statement of Discipline
You must provide a certificate of good standing and a statement of discipline from every state or foreign jurisdiction where you are licensed or authorized to practice law.
Each CGS and statement of discipline must be issued within 30 days of the date that you submitted this Application.
The CGS and statement of discipline are required even if your license or authorization in a particular jurisdiction is inactive.
You must submit an English translation of any required document that is not written in English.
General Procedures. Unless revoked, a Foreign Legal Consultant certification is valid for one year. You may renew a Foreign Legal Consultant certification by submitting to the Board at least 60 days before your certification expires:
- A Foreign Legal Consultant Renewal Application
- Payment of the fee(s)
- Proof that you completed three hours of minimum continuing legal education in ethics courses accredited by the State Bar of Texas
- Such evidence as the Board shall deem necessary that you continue to meet the requirements for the original certification. Please refer to Rule 14, and the instructions
Continuing Legal Education. Your application for renewal must be accompanied by proof that you have completed three hours of continuing legal education in ethics courses accredited by the State Bar of Texas (CLE). To report CLE hours, use the Foreign Legal Consultant Attendance Certificate Form found on the State Bar of Texas website Foreign Legal Consultant Certification page. Both you and the CLE sponsor must complete the form. If you do not attach the properly completed reporting form(s) verifying that you have completed the required CLE, your application for renewal will be returned to you unfiled and unprocessed. See the State Bar of Texas Continuing Legal Education website and the Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism website for courses and events.
Filing Fees. The fee to renew a Foreign Legal Consultant Certification is $150. In addition, every second renewal year there is a supplemental investigation fee of $150. Thus, the total fees due every second renewal year are $300. See Appendix Fee Schedule. If you are uncertain of the correct filing fee, please contact your Licensure Analyst.
Deadline and Late Fee. If you do not submit your completed renewal application at least 60 days before your current certification will expire, you may, upon a showing of good cause, submit a late renewal application up to 180 days after your certification expires, with payment of a $150 late fee in addition to the applicable filing fee(s). After the 180-day grace period has passed, you cannot renew your certification—you must reapply for certification under Section 2 of Rule 14 of the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas.