Admission Without Examination Information
In order to be licensed in Texas without taking the Texas Bar Examination, you must demonstrate that you:
- Hold a J.D. from an ABA-approved U.S. law school or satisfy each element of a Rule 13 exemption from the law study requirement
- Are licensed to practice law in another state
- Have been actively and substantially engaged in the lawful practice of law as your principal business or occupation for at least 5 of the 7 years immediately preceding your application
- For applications submitted before December 1, 2019: Have never failed the Texas Bar Examination
In addition, you must
- Be certified by the Board as having present good moral character and fitness
- Score 85 or higher on the MPRE
- Satisfy the requirements of Rule 2(a)(5)
- For applications submitted on or after December 1, 2019: Complete the Texas Law Component
- Register with the State Bar of Texas, pay bar dues, and pay a licensing fee
- Take the required Oath
- Complete the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas no later than 12 months after being licensed
AWOX applications can be submitted at any time. To submit an application:
- Create a personal ATLAS account on this website.
- From your ATLAS account, complete an AWOX application.
- Upload required documents. Keep originals on hand—you must mail them to us upon request.
- Electronically submit your application and pay the filing fee.
- Arrange for third parties to provide documents to us.
- Update your mailing address, email address, and all other information as needed while your application is pending.
- Complete the Texas Law Component.
For more information
Please see our FAQs for more information, including information on "Determining What Counts as the Active, Substantial, and Lawful Practice of Law" and "Documenting the Active, Substantial, and Lawful Practice of Law."