

The State Bar of Texas cordially invites you and your family to the New Lawyers Induction Ceremony Monday, November 14, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.

Bass Concert Hall 2350 Robert Dedman Dr. Austin, Texas

Refreshments will be provided

Michael J. Ritter, President Texas Young Lawyers Association Laura Gibson, President State Bar of Texas



PARKING AVAILABLE

SAN JACINTO GARAGE

2401 San Jacinto Blvd. (entrance on Trinity St.)

<u>LOT 39</u>

Red River and E. Dean Keeton (entrance on Red River)

> *For detailed directions and parking information



Membership Department



Dear New Attorney:

Congratulations! You have passed the Bar Exam and the State Bar of Texas welcomes you to the legal profession. Every lawyer approved for admittance to practice law in Texas is required to enroll in the State Bar of Texas.

To enroll, please complete the registration process online, at texasbar.com/NewAttorney.

Membership Dues and other Fees:

- Membership Dues/Licensing Fee The State Bar Act stipulates that membership dues are to be paid to the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas on an annual basis. In addition, all attorneys must pay a one-time licensing fee of \$25. See the fee schedule below to determine the total amount of your membership enrollment fees. State bar membership expires each year on June 1, and attorneys may renew their membership by paying their membership fees by that date.
- 2) <u>Legal Services Fee</u> The State Bar Act also requires Texas attorneys to pay an annual \$65 legal services fee. Half of the legal services fee is allocated to the Supreme Court Judicial Fund, which provides civil legal services to the poor, and the other half is allocated to the Fair Defense Account of the state's general revenue fund for indigent criminal defense. The legal services fee is not prorated. All members of the State Bar are subject to the legal services fee, unless eligible for an exemption.

Those licensed in Texas <u>or</u> elsewhere:	Legal Services Fee*	One-time License Fee	November licensees dues for fiscal year 6/1/21 through 5/31/22 must pay*:
0 - 3 Years (licensed on or after 6/1/19)	\$65*	+ \$25	+ \$68 = \$158.00
3 - 5 Years (licensed on or after 6/1/17, but before 6/1/19)	\$65*	+ \$25	+ \$148 = \$238.00
5 Years or more (licensed before 6/1/17)	\$65*	+ \$25	+ \$235 = \$325.00
Inactive Status	\$0	+ \$25	+ \$50 = \$75.00



Membership Department

* Exemptions from the Legal Services Fee

You may be exempt from the Legal Services Fee if you meet any one of the following conditions:

- A) 70 years of age or older on or before May 31, 2023;
- B) Inactive status under the rules governing the State Bar of Texas;
- C) Out-of-state attorney who is not practicing law in Texas;
- D) Judge full or part time;
- E) Federal or state employee;
- F) An employee of city, county, or district attorney who does not have a private practice that accounts for more than 50% of their time;
- G) An employee of 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation whose employees are prohibited from outside practice of law;
- H) MCLE non-practicing attorney (must qualify with the MCLE Department).

Legal services fee exemptions can be claimed online during the registration process. Please note that most exemptions must be claimed each year, and attorneys must notify the Membership Department when the exemption no longer applies.

3) <u>Voluntary Access to Justice Contribution</u> – The Supreme Court of Texas asks that you consider making a \$150 voluntary contribution to Access to Justice. By making a contribution, attorneys support legal services provided to the poor through local programs funded by the Texas Access to Justice Foundation and the Texas Bar Foundation. To learn more, please visit <u>texasatj.org</u>. Access to Justice contributions of any amount can be made online during the registration process.

If you are unable to register online, you can register by mail by sending the completed registration form and credit card authorization form to the State Bar of Texas, Membership Department, PO Box 12487, Austin, TX 78711-2487. Please submit the original registration form; do not send a copy.

The State Bar of Texas does not accept checks for membership fees. Checks received without prior authorization based on disability or undue hardship will be returned to sender.

Upon completion of the registration process, you will be a member in good standing with the State Bar of Texas. For information about the many member benefits and services of the State Bar, visit our website at <u>texasbar.com</u>. For tips and resources to help you start, maintain, and grow your law practice, visit the State Bar's Law Practice Management website at <u>texasbarpractice.com</u>.

The procedures governing member fees objections are set forth in Section 3.14 of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors Policy Manual. For more information and to access the dues objection form, go to <u>texasbar.com/objections</u>.

If you have any questions, please contact the Membership Department at 512-427-1383 or by email at memberfees@texasbar.com.

Sincerely,

State Bar of Texas Membership Department

> State Bar of Texas Membership Department P.O. Box 12487 Austin, Texas 78711 www.texasbar.com | (512) 427-1383 | memmail@texasbar.com

Congratulations on becoming a new member of the State Bar of Texas!

Helpful Guidelines on Your State Bar of Texas Membership



STATE BAR of TEXAS

The membership department maintains records of all attorneys licensed in Texas and is responsible for the annual collection of membership fees.

Membership fees are due by June 1 of each year.

Manage your membership by logging in to your My Bar Page at texasbar.com.

Membership Department P.O. Box 12487 Austin, TX 78711 512-427-1383 800-204-2222 ext. 1383 texasbar.com

Registration and Oath of Office

Newly licensed attorneys are required to register with the State Bar of Texas. Please complete the registration process online. You are also required to take the oath of office. After you have taken the oath, attach it to the reverse side of your license. For more information, please visit texasbar.com/newattorney.

Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas

The Supreme Court mandates that all newly licensed attorneys take the James A. Baker course within one year of their license date. For additional information, please visit **legalethicstexas.com**.

MCLE Requirements

Every active member of the State Bar must complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited continuing legal education (CLE) each MCLE compliance year. For more information, please visit **texasbar.com/newattorneyfaqs**.

MEMBERSHIP 2022-2023 LICENSING FEES SCHEDULE

Licensees for fiscal year June 1, 2022 - May 31, 2023

Dues and Fees are to be made payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas.

Review your registration form to determine the date admitted to practice law in Texas. Then go to the month on the schedule below to determine the membership dues, license fee, and legal services fee you will need to submit. For attorneys licensed prior to May 1, 2022, please contact the Membership Department at 512-427-1383 for the correct amounts.

Membership Dues for Newly Licensed ACTIVE Attorneys:

Those licensed in Texas <u>or elsewhere</u> :	June	July	August	September	October	November	December	January	February	March	April	Мау
0 - 3 Years Licensed on or after 6/1/19	\$68.00	\$68.00	\$68.00	\$68.00	\$68.00	\$68.00	\$34.00	\$34.00	\$34.00	\$34.00	\$34.00	\$102.00 *
3 - 5 Years Licensed on or after 6/1/17, but before 6/1/19	\$148.00	\$148.00	\$148.00	\$148.00	\$148.00	\$148.00	\$74.00	\$74.00	\$74.00	\$74.00	\$74.00	\$222.00 *
5 Years or more Licensed before 6/1/17	\$235.00	\$235.00	\$235.00	\$235.00	\$235.00	\$235.00	\$117.50	\$117.50	\$117.50	\$117.50	\$117.50	\$352.50 *

* The dues payment for May licensees includes pro-rated membership dues for FY22-23 & full membership dues for FY23-24.

Plus Additional Required Fees:

One-time License Fee	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00	\$25.00
Legal Services Fee	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00	\$65.00

Membership Dues for Newly Licensed INACTIVE Attorneys:

New members requesting **INACTIVE** status must pay \$50.00 Dues + \$25.00 License Fee = \$75.00 payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court.

STATE BAR OF TEXAS REGISTRATION/ATTORNEY PROFILE FORM

Membership Department P. O. Box 12487 Austin. Texas 78711-2487 - (512) 427-1383 REMIT FORM WITH MEMBERSHIP FEES AND LEGAL SERVICES FEE EXEMPTION FORM, IF APPLICABLE

NAME:		LAST 4 DIGITS SOCIAL SECURITY #:	
ADDRESS: Check Box for preferred mailing address	Home:	City/State/Zip: City/State/Zip: al if office address provided)	
□Check this bo	x if you do not wa	ant your personal information disclosed to the public	
PHONE: Office	:	Home:(optional)	
E-MAIL ADDRES	s:	@	
DATE OF BIRTH:	/	/	
LAW SCHOOL AT	TENDED:		
GRADUATION DA	ATE://		
DATE ADMITTED	TO PRACTICE IN 7	TEXAS: / <td></td>	
SEX: ETHNICITY/RACI Hispanic or La		Female here if you are more than one race and one of the races is Hispanic or Latino)	
□ Native Hawai □ Black or Afric	ian or Other Pacifi can American (Not	ive (Not Hispanic or Latino) ic Islander (Not Hispanic or Latino) t Hispanic or Latino) inc or Latino) includes all persons who identify with more than one of the above five races.	
	s Government Coo	de Sec. 81.115(b)(6), you are required to report any public disciplinary sanctions issued by an entity in anot pline. Please provide the information below if applicable.	her
Other State Pub	lic Disciplinary I	Information:	
State Code	Sanction Code	Sanction Start Date (MM-DD-YYYY) Sanction End Date (MM-DD-YYYY)	
Example:	<u> </u>	0 4 1 5 2 0 0 1 1 0 1 5 2 0 0	1
Sanction Codes:	01 Informal Ad 02 Letter of Co 03 Censure)n

I certify that the information provided on this form is true and correct.

CERTIFICATION SIGNATURE:

DATE:

To register online, go to www.texasbar.com/newattorney, and select "CLICK HERE TO REGISTER NOW".

To update your profile information after your registration is complete, log onto your My Bar Page at www.texasbar.com.



Membership Department

LEGAL SERVICES FEE EXEMPTION CLAIM FORM

YOU ARE EXEMPT FROM PAYING THE \$65 LEGAL SERVICES FEE IF YOU ARE:

- On inactive status under the rules governing the licensing of attorneys; or if you are
- Exempt from MCLE requirements based on non-practicing status as defined by the State Bar (contact the MCLE Department at 512-427-1806 or mcle@texasbar.com to claim this exemption);

YOU MAY ALSO BE EXEMPT FROM PAYING THE \$65 LEGAL SERVICES FEE IF YOU QUALIFY FOR ANY OF THE FOLLOWING (please check only <u>one</u>):

EMERITUS STATUS:

I affirm that I am 70 years of age or older, or that I will become 70 on or before May 31, 2023; and hereby request that I be enrolled with the State Bar of Texas as an emeritus member pursuant to Tex. Govt. Code §81.052(e).

THE FOLLOWING EXEMPTIONS MUST BE CLAIMED EACH YEAR:

□ I am an Attorney who resides out-of-state and I do not practice law in Texas. (Please note: You cannot claim the out of state exemption if you have any cases or provide other legal services in Texas. You may claim the exemption up until the date you take a case or you begin to provide legal services in Texas. At that time, you will need to call the Membership Department to remove the exemption and to pay the \$65 legal services fee.)

Please provide out-of-state address:

- □ I am a full or part-time Judge. (Federal, State, County, or City)
- □ I am employed by the state or federal government.
- □ I am employed by a city, county, or district attorney's office and I do not have a private practice that accounts for more than 50% of my time.
- \Box I am employed by a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation and I am prohibited from private practice.

I, _____, hereby claim the exemption selected above.

 Signature:

Date: _____

Bar Number: ______ Effective date of the exemption: ______

Please email this form to <u>memmail@texasbar.com</u> or fax to 512-427-4424.

State Bar of TexasMembership DepartmentP.O. Box 12487Austin, Texas 78711www.texasbar.com|(800) 204 2222 x1383|(512) 427-1383|memmail@texasbar.com



Membership Department

CREDIT CARD AUTHORIZATION FORM

I hereby authorize the State Bar of Texas Membership Department to charge the following amounts on my credit card:

Dues:	\$
Legal Services Fee:	\$
Access to Justice Contribution:	\$
Other:	\$
Credit Card Processing Fee:	\$5.00
TOTAL:	\$
Type of Credit Card: MasterCard Visa	Discover American Express
Credit Card Number:	Exp date: /

Please note that your total will include a \$5.00 credit card processing fee, to help offset the costs incurred by the State Bar of Texas for accepting credit card transactions. This \$5.00 fee is not greater than the State Bar's cost of accepting credit cards.

Name on Credit Card:	
Authorized Signature:	
Attorney's Name:	
Attorney's Bar Number:	
Authorization Date:	

Please return the completed form via email at <u>memmail@texasbar.com</u>, fax at (512) 427-4424, or mail to State Bar of Texas, Membership Department, PO Box 12487, Austin, TX 78711-2487.

State Bar of TexasMembership DepartmentP.O. Box 12487Austin, Texas 78711(800) 204 2222 x1383|(512) 427-1383|memmail@texasbar.com



Dear Newly Licensed Texas Attorney:

Congratulations on passing the Texas Bar Exam! We would like to welcome you to the profession and provide you with important information regarding your requirement to take the *Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas*. This course is mandated for all newly licensed* Texas attorneys by the Supreme Court of Texas.

The *Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas* is taught by some of Texas's most influential lawyers and judges. This course provides new attorneys with a solid foundation for a successful legal career.

Important Information:

- Supreme Court Orders <u>96-9078</u> and <u>96-9226</u> mandate that all newly-licensed Texas attorneys take the *Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas* within twelve months of licensure. Supreme Court Order <u>06-9075</u> was passed to enforce the suspension of law licenses for those not in compliance.
- Attorneys suspended for non-attendance cannot practice law in Texas until they have satisfied the course attendance requirements and have paid:

 (1) all fees and charges required for completing the *Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas* course (after the twelve-month deadline a \$150 penalty is incurred), and
 (2) a \$25 administrative fee payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court.

In order to avoid penalties and possible suspension, you need to complete the *Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas* within one year from the date on your Texas Bar Card (you have until the last day of the month you were licensed to be in compliance). Once you have completed the course, send the Certificate of Completion to Texas Center for Legal Ethics via fax 512-427-4125, email

To register, please look on the next page for registration information. If you have questions regarding this requirement, please contact the Center at 800-204-2222 x 1477 or 512-427-1477.

Sincerely,

info@legalethicstexas.com or mail to the address below.

Deres Schedler

Teresa Schedler Director, Compliance and Program

*If you are currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction, you are still required to take this course. There can be no substitutions for other CLE hours.



IMPORTANT COMPLIANCE INFORMATION! How to register for the Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas course Mandated by the Supreme Court of Texas

About the course...

Since 1996, the Supreme Court of Texas requires all newly-licensed lawyers in Texas to complete a four-hour ethics and professionalism CLE program, *The Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas* course, no later than 12 months after the date of licensure. **Please refer to the licensure date on your bar card or your law license.** <u>No other course can be substituted to fulfill this requirement</u>. Attorneys who fail to comply with the Supreme Court's order by the deadline **will be suspended**.

Live Course

No future live courses have been scheduled at this time. They will resume at locations in Austin, Dallas and Houston. Please check the website for future dates by clicking on the Live Courses tab on the Center's website, **LegalEthicsTexas.com**.

Online Course

Online Registration can be accessed by going to LegalEthicsTexas.com and clicking on the Courses tab. Please note that if you fail to complete the course within twelve months after your licensure date, you will be required to pay a \$150 penalty in addition to the regular course fee. In the event that you are assessed the late fee, you will not receive credit for the course until this fee is paid along with the regular course fee. The course must be completed by the deadline to avoid the late penalty.

Click here to register!

TEXAS ACCESS to JUSTICE FOUNDATION

Annual Attorney IOLTA Compliance

Questions? Go to compliance@tajf.org or 800-252-3401, Ext. 108

The annual State Bar of Texas membership dues statement is one way attorneys can confirm compliance with the Interest on Lawyers' Trust Account (IOLTA) program. <u>All attorneys must annually verify</u> that their IOLTA information online with the Texas Access to Justice Foundation (TAJF) is correct and up-to-date before certifying compliance when checking the box prior to paying your membership dues. Even if you do not handle client funds, you still need to annually verify the information under your bar card number is correct. Please follow the instructions below to confirm IOLTA compliance.

No IOLTA Needed – Still Must Verify Compliance

Attorneys who are **not in private practice, and do not handle client funds**¹, **attorneys practicing in Texas but have an out-of-state IOLTA and obtained consent from all Texas clients to use that account, or an IOLTA eligible bank cannot be located**² do **not** need an IOLTA but **still need to report** their status annually to TAJF.

- 1. Go to w.tajf.org
- 2. Click on "Attorneys," then "IOLTA Compliance"
- 3. Use your Texas Bar card number and Texas Bar PIN/Password to login.
- 4. Verify that an IOLTA bank account is not associated with your bar card. (see example graphic)
- 5. When you pay your bar dues, check the box to certify that you are in compliance with IOLTA.

IOLTA Needed – Must Verify Compliance

Attorneys in private practice that receive or handle clients' funds³ must deposit those funds in a separate bank account designated as "trust" or "escrow". See Rule 1.14 of the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct. If the client funds received are nominal in amount or are short-term, they must be deposited in an IOLTA at an eligible financial institution.

- 1. Go to <u>www.tajf.org</u>
- 2. Click on "Attorneys," then "IOLTA Compliance"
- 3. Use your Texas Bar card number and Texas Bar PIN/Password to login.
- 4. Review the information for the IOLTA associated with your bar card and update, e.g. close your IOLTA, open an IOLTA, indicate you are no longer with the firm listed, or indicate you are with a new firm.
- 5. When you pay your bar dues, check the box to certify that you are in compliance with IOLTA.

TAJF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization created by the Supreme Court of Texas to administer the IOLTA program that helps supports free civil legal aid for vulnerable low income Texans. Section 23 of the rules governing IOLTA <u>http://www.teajf.org/about_tajf/governing_rules.aspx</u> require annually that all attorneys licensed by the Supreme Court of Texas shall report IOLTA compliance to TAJF. An attorney's refusal to comply may result in their suspension. For questions or more information, please visit our website at <u>www.tajf.org</u>, email compliance@tajf.org, or call 800-252-3401, Ext 108.

Help Support Civil Legal Aid

You can effortlessly support civil legal aid to the poor in Texas by opening your IOLTA with a financial institution that is a **Texas IOLTA Prime Partner**. These institutions go above and beyond eligibility requirements by agreeing to pay a higher interest rate on the IOLTAs. Visit <u>www.tajf.org</u> for a list of Prime Partner Banks.

Report Your Pro Bono Hours

Lawyers that volunteer to assist low income clients should make sure they report their pro bono hours. Attorneys simply log onto "**My Bar Page**" on <u>www.texasbar.com</u>, using their bar number and password.

¹ Lawyers with law firms are responsible for ensuring that their bar number is associated with the law firm's IOLTA account on line at <u>www.tajf.org</u> or, if the law firm is not listed on line, that their individual bar number is associated with the law firm's IOLTA account.

² If an eligible IOLTA bank cannot be located, an attorney is still required to maintain a non-interest bearing client trust account for such funds ³ See 1. Above.

Attorney Account Information/Changes

Firm Information TAJF records do not show a firm for you.

Change...

IOLTA Accounts
TAJF records do not show any open accounts for you.
Add Account





TEXAS

Minimum Continuing Legal Education

P.O. BOX 13007 / AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711-3007 / 1414 Colorado, Suite 503 / Austin, Texas 78701 800-204-2222, Ext. 1806 / 512-427-1806 / Fax: 512-427-4423 e-mail: mcle@texasbar.com

Dear Newly Licensed Texas Attorney:

I would like to congratulate you and welcome you to membership in the State Bar of Texas. You can certainly be proud of your accomplishments, and I wish you continued success as you embark upon your career as a Texas attorney.

MCLE constitutes a major effort to enhance the excellence of the legal profession. The MCLE program became effective June 1, 1986, with its primary goal being to commit Texas attorneys to maintain high standards of professional competence in order to better serve the public and our system of justice. The MCLE program is designed to assure that every attorney in this state maintains a current knowledge of both substantive and procedural law.

This letter is followed by a summary of the MCLE requirements and an explanation of how your initial MCLE compliance period will be determined. Please review this information to determine the ending date of your initial MCLE compliance period so that you can complete the minimum number of CLE credit hours prior to that date.

The <u>www.texasbar.com</u> website includes information and tools to help you to comply with MCLE requirements. You may view and update your current MCLE compliance record at any time after logging in to the "My Bar Page" feature found at <u>www.texasbar.com</u>. MCLE also maintains a searchable database of approved CLE activities. The searchable database is located at <u>https://www.texasbar.com/AM/CustomSource/Wrapper/members/onlinetools/coursesearch.asp</u>, along with the MCLE Rules, Regulations, Accreditation Standards for CLE Activities, and other useful information regarding your MCLE requirements.

We hope that you will embrace the MCLE program in the spirit in which it was conceived, for a meaningful CLE program not only retains public confidence, but also demonstrates your professional responsibility to our legal system. Again, congratulations on your admittance to the Bar, and please feel free to contact us if you have any questions regarding MCLE.

Sincerely,

Erica Rodriguez

Erica Rodriguez Director, MCLE



Minimum Continuing Legal Education



P.O. BOX 13007 / AUSTIN, TEXAS 78711-3007 / 1414 Colorado, Suite 503 / Austin, Texas 78701 800-204-2222, Ext. 1806 / 512-427-1806 / Fax: 512-427-4423 e-mail: mcle@texasbar.com

What are the general requirements of the MCLE program?

Every active member of the State Bar must complete a minimum of 15 hours of continuing legal education (CLE) during each MCLE compliance year. At least 12 of the total 15 CLE hours need to be completed through attendance at Accredited CLE activities. Accredited CLE includes any program that has been accredited by MCLE and may include live CLE programs, live and on-demand online CLE, and downloadable versions of live Accredited CLE programs. Three of the 15 hours can be in the form of self-study activities, which would include reading legal periodicals, or attending nonaccredited CLE activities. At least three hours of the minimum 15-hour requirement must be in the area of legal ethics/professional responsibility; one hour of this minimum 3-hour requirement may be completed in the form of self-study credit.

What is my "MCLE Compliance Year"?

For most attorneys, the MCLE compliance year is a one-year period that begins on the first day of the attorney's birth month and ends one year later on the last day of the month that immediately precedes the birth month. However, for newly licensed attorneys, the initial MCLE compliance year is a 24-month period that begins on the first day of the attorney's first birth month to occur after the licensing date and ends two years later, on the last day of the month that immediately precedes the attorney's birth month.

For example: Assume an attorney has an admission date in November 2022, and November is the attorney's birth month. Since November 1, 2023 would be the first day of the next birth month to occur after admission, then the first compliance year would begin on November 1, 2023, and end 24 months later on the last day of the month that immediately precedes the attorneys birth month, or in this case, October 31, 2025. Credits taken between these two dates will be applied toward the attorney's initial compliance year.

In addition, credits completed one year prior to the start of the initial MCLE compliance year will be allowed. In the example given above, the attorney may use CLE credits accumulated on or after November 1, 2022 toward the 15-hour minimum requirement of the initial compliance year.

How will my attendance at MCLE accredited activities be reported to the Bar?

If you attend an Accredited CLE course or seminar, you might receive a State Bar Course Attendance Form which you will need to complete, sign and leave with the sponsor at the end of the course. The sponsor will then forward the attendance forms to the MCLE Department and the attendance information will then be entered in your current MCLE compliance record. Sponsors can also report attendance electronically, and the sponsor may have a list to sign with your name, bar number and hours attended. If you attend an accredited activity via the Internet or by telephone, the sponsor of the activity will still submit your attendance. The sponsor may complete the attendance form for you, or report electronically to the MCLE office. However, please note that it sometimes takes several weeks to receive attendance information from the sponsor, regardless of the method of presentation.

If I attend a course that does not have advance MCLE accreditation, how can I receive credit for it?

If a CLE course does NOT have advance MCLE accreditation in Texas and if the course is conducted at a location <u>within</u> Texas or is delivered electronically (online, satellite, webcast, teleconference, downloadable CLE) you can receive MCLE credit for the course <u>only</u> if the sponsor files an application with the MCLE Department and the course is subsequently accredited.

However, you can file an individual request to receive MCLE credit for an out-of state course or seminar. A completed *State Bar Application for Accreditation of CLE Activity* along with the required \$25 accreditation fee should be submitted for each out-of-state course. Individuals may not request credit for electronically delivered CLE programs such as teleconferences, online, satellite or downloadable CLE.

What is the difference between Accredited CLE, Self-study and Ethics credit hours?

CLE hours can be in the form of either Accredited CLE hours or Self-study hours. Selfstudy is reported individually by each attorney and is limited to no more than three hours per MCLE compliance year.

Accredited CLE hours are received by attending any course that has been MCLE accredited for use in completing MCLE requirements. Accredited CLE can include attendance at live CLE seminars, attendance at live or on-demand (pre-recorded) teleconferences, webcasts, online streaming audio/video programs, or through the use of accredited downloadable CLE programs.

Of the two types of CLE credit hours, *Accredited CLE* or *Self-study*, EITHER can be in the area of legal ethics or professional responsibility. However, only one of the three-hour minimum requirements for legal ethics may be satisfied through *Self-study*. The remaining two ethics/professional responsibility hours must be completed through *Accredited CLE* activities.

Will I be required to file a report at the end of my MCLE compliance year?

MCLE Rules do not require that an annual MCLE report be filed with the State Bar. However, attorneys must report CLE credits that are <u>not</u> currently listed on the MCLE record. Failure to timely report CLE credit hours needed for compliance could result in a non-compliance penalty of \$100, \$200 or \$300.

The MCLE Annual Verification Report will be mailed to you eight weeks prior to your birth month. Upon receipt of the report, you should review your transcript of CLE credits and make any additions or corrections in accordance with the instructions on the form, or make additions or changes to your MCLE record via the "My Bar Page" link located at <u>www.texasbar.com/mcle.</u>

If no changes are needed, and the report shows that you have completed the requisite number of

CLE hours needed for the compliance year, no further action on your part is required. How do I add Self-study CLE credit to my MCLE compliance record?

A maximum of three hours of *Self-study* credit can be applied toward your MCLE requirements for each MCLE compliance year. (At least 12 hours of the minimum 15-hour requirement for each compliance year must be in the form of *Accredited CLE*). *Self-study* credit should be added at the end of each MCLE compliance year and can be added online anytime via the *"My Bar Page"* link located at *www.texasbar.com/mcle*, or you may request a CLE Credit Input Form from the MCLE department.

What if my minimum CLE credits are not completed or reported by the last day of my MCLE compliance year?

If you have NOT completed and reported the minimum 15 hours of CLE by the last day of your MCLE compliance year, you will automatically be given your birth month as a grace period in order to complete and report your credits without a penalty. However, if the minimum CLE credits are not completed and reported by the last day of your birth month, then you would be in non-compliance and subject to a penalty. The non-compliance penalty is determined by the date upon which the MCLE Director receives the member's report of the completed hours, as follows: \$100 if received within one month after the birth month. \$200 if received within two months after the birth month. and \$300 if received thereafter, but before suspension of the member. Payment of the noncompliance fee is required in order to bring a member's MCLE record into compliance. Failure to pay the non-compliance fee shall be considered non-compliance with MCLE requirements and will subject the member to suspension.

Will I receive any type of notice of my MCLE requirements on my birth month?

If your MCLE record reflects that you are still lacking the minimum CLE credits for the compliance year, a *Reminder Notice* will be sent to you on the first day of your birth month advising that the remaining credits need to be <u>completed and reported</u> by the last day of the month to avoid a penalty fee. You can also contact the MCLE Department at any time during the year to check your current status, or you can check your status over the Internet at <u>www.texasbar.com/mcle</u> under the "My Bar Page" link.

What if I do not receive my Annual Verification Report?

The MCLE Annual Verification Report will be mailed to you at the address shown for you in the Membership records here at the Bar. If your report is not received two months prior to your birth month, please contact the MCLE Department so that a duplicate report can be prepared and mailed.

Please note that it is each attorney's responsibility to maintain a current mailing address with the Membership Department of the Bar. Any failure to meet the MCLE requirements due to an attorney's failure to maintain a correct address with the Bar will not be allowed as a reason for failure to meet the MCLE requirement.

If I attend a CLE course during my MCLE compliance year and it does not appear on the transcript portion of my Annual Verification Report, how do I add this credit to my record?

First, verify with the sponsor of the activity that it was accredited for Texas MCLE credit. CLE activities accredited in other states are NOT automatically accredited in Texas, nor are all online CLE and downloadable CLE programs. If the activity is accredited in Texas, the sponsor of the activity will be assigned a 9-digit course number for the activity. Credit for the course can be added to your MCLE compliance record online at the MCLE reporting site found under the "My Bar Page" feature at <u>www.texabar.com/mcle</u> or you may request a CLE Credit Input Form from the MCLE department.

If I accumulate CLE credit hours in excess of the minimum requirement, can I carry over these hours to the next MCLE compliance year?

Yes. You may carry over a maximum of 15 credit hours (including three hours of ethics and three hours of self-study) from one MCLE compliance year to the next. However, any hours earned in excess of the 15-hour maximum carry-forward, cannot be used for MCLE purposes.

Are there any attorneys who are exempt from the MCLE requirements?

Yes. The MCLE Rules provide for exemptions and/or special provisions for the following categories of attorneys:

- Those placed on Inactive status with the Membership Department of the Bar; and who have been Inactive during the *entire* MCLE compliance year;
- (2) Those who are not engaged in the practice of law in Texas at any time during their MCLE compliance year and have elected to claim an MCLE Non-Practicing Exemption;
- (3) Full-time and Part-time Faculty members of ABA approved law schools, except for the requirement in legal ethics/legal professional responsibility;
- (4) Judges, both state and federal;
- (5) Those who are employed as full-time attorneys with certain offices of the Texas Legislature;
- (6) Members of the U.S. or Texas Legislature or members of Congress; and
- (7) Those with circumstances that demonstrate an undue hardship due to an extreme medical or physical disability that prevents compliance.

Some of these categories are true exemptions, meaning that the attorney would not have to complete any CLE while claiming the exempt status; others are special credit allowances that may or may not completely satisfy the full minimum requirements for CLE.

If you have any additional questions concerning the MCLE program in Texas, please contact us at:

State Bar of Texas MCLE Department P.O. Box 13007 Austin, Texas 78711-3007 Phone: 1-800-204-2222, or (512) 427-1806 FAX: (512) 427-4423 E-mail: <u>MCLE@texasbar.com</u> Website: www.texasbar.com "My Bar Page"