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Board of  Law Examiners
Supreme Court of  Texas

• The Board of  Law Examiners is a 
judicial agency under the authority 
of  the Supreme Court of  Texas 
and investigates the character and 
fitness of  all applicants on behalf  
of  the Court.

• The Supreme Court of  Texas 
certifies all applicants for 
admission to the Bar.

• The law requires filing of  a 
Declaration to initiate investigation 
of  applicants.



Confidentiality

• All records and proceedings 
regarding character and fitness are 
closed to the public and 
confidential.

• Three exceptions are listed in Rule 
1(e):

1. Upon written authority of  a Declarant;

2. In response to a valid subpoena from 
a court of  competent jurisdiction; and

3. To the Office of  Chief  Disciplinary 
Counsel of  the State Bar of  Texas, or 
the Texas Unauthorized Practice of  Law 
Committee



Admission to the Bar is a 
two-step process

• Declaration of  Intention to Study Law

• October 1 deadline (fall)

• May 1 deadline (spring)

• June 1 deadline (spring quarter hour)

• September 15 deadline (summer entrants)

• Within 60 days of  matriculation (if  
transferring from an out-of-state school)

• Application for Bar Examination

• February 2028 application due September 
1, 2027 (to avoid late fee)

• July 2028 application due February 1, 2028 
(to avoid late fee)

• UBE transfer application



Don’t delay!

• The purpose of  the Declaration is to provide you with early notice of  issues 
and concerns that need to be evaluated and possibly corrected to remove 
impediments to licensure.

• Regular Filing Fee: $190

• Additional Late Fee: $150

Payments are accepted online by credit card or e-check.

• The latest you could file a Declaration is concurrently with your bar 
application, but this could delay your licensure.



ble.texas.gov

• Visit the BLE website for more information specific to Character & Fitness

• Frequently Asked Questions

• Application Forms

• Rules and Policies

• Character & Fitness

• Hearings Procedures

• A copy of  this presentation



ATLAS account required

• ATLAS is the application processing system for the Board of  Law Examiners. Every student 
filing a Declaration is required to create an ATLAS account on the Board's website.

• Record your username and password for future use.

• Submit your Declaration and pay online.

• Your ATLAS account is the only way the Board communicates with you from filing your 
Declaration until you receive your bar exam results and licensing information.

• Add noreply@ble.texas.gov as a safe sender.

mailto:noreply@ble.texas.gov


REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

You must submit the following documents with your Declaration.

 Authorization and Release

 Law school application with all attachments, amendments, and updates

 Any other documents required by the disclosures you make on your Declaration

 Within 30 days of  submitting your Declaration, you must be fingerprinted with our 
service code, even if  you have already been fingerprinted for some other purpose. 
You cannot be fingerprinted before submitting your Declaration. See 
http://ble.texas.gov/fingerprint-information.

http://ble.texas.gov/fingerprint-information


DECLARATION 
CHECKLIST

This checklist is available 
once you create an 
ATLAS account and begin 
the Declaration.



Read the instructions

• If  you have questions, review the FAQs on our website or email the Board of  Law 
Examiners at Information@ble.texas.gov.

• Don't rely on other law students for advice.

• Fully disclose everything.

• Do not omit negative information.

• Demonstrate honesty in the application process to avoid creating additional issues.

• Don't minimize, mischaracterize, or misrepresent the facts, no matter how embarrassing 
they may be.

mailto:Information@ble.texas.gov


Good moral character

• Our investigation is an assessment of  character traits that are likely to result in injury to 
future clients, obstruct the administration of  justice, or violate the Texas Disciplinary Rules 
of  Professional Conduct.

• TEXAS DISCIPLINARY RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

• These traits often involve dishonesty or a lack of  trustworthiness in carrying out 
responsibilities.

https://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Search&ContentID=27271&Template=/CM/ContentDisplay.cfm


What must be disclosed?

Requires detailed information about:

• College attendance (any and all, including dual enrollment, community colleges, colleges outside the U.S., etc.)

• Law school attendance (any and all)

• Employment history (within the last 10 years, or since your 18th birthday, whichever period is shorter.) Internships 
and externships, paid or unpaid, should also be disclosed.

• Residence history (any cities/states/countries where you have resided, worked, or attended school within the last 10 
years.) Do not leave gaps and be sure to include all residence history up to the time you submit your Declaration.

• Professional licenses

• Military service

• Personal references. You must provide contact information for six character references (may not be law school 
classmates, relatives, or anyone listed as an employment contact.)



Matters of  interest to
character assessment

School Discipline 
(including suspension, 

expulsion, adjustment of  
grade, community service, 
or any written notice of  
reprimand or warning)

Civil litigation (including 
divorce or class action suits, 
evictions, small claims suits)

Bankruptcy filings
Compliance with court 
orders (child support, 

judgments)

Past-due child support Significant past-due debt 
($50,000 past due or more) Professional discipline Contempt of  court



Matters of  interest to 
character assessment

UPL (unauthorized 
practice of  law)

Failure to timely file or 
timely pay state or 

federal income taxes
Failure to timely file 
and pay payroll taxes

Non-disclosure of  
required matters to 
your law school or 
the Board of  Law 

Examiners

Dishonesty or lack of  
candor in answers

Criminal history (see 
next slides)



Criminal History

Read the questions carefully.

6.1: Have you ever been convicted of  an offense, placed on probation, or granted deferred 
adjudication or any type of  pretrial diversion? 

6.2: Have you, within the last 10 years, been arrested, cited or ticketed for, or charged with 
any violation of  the law?

The full text of  the questions appears on the Declaration.

Exercise due diligence. Check with courts, arresting agencies, parents. Ask questions before 
submitting your Declaration.



Criminal History

Offenses involving alcohol and/or drugs must be included.

Class C misdemeanor traffic violations should be omitted.

Failure to Appear and Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility ("No Insurance") are 
not considered to be minor traffic violations and must be disclosed.

Visit www.texasfailuretoappear.com, a DPS website, to determine if  you may have had 
any Failures to Appear.

http://www.texasfailuretoappear.com/


Criminal 
History

• Expunged or sealed charges must not be 
disclosed. Ensure you have a signed court order 
expunging or sealing the offense. If  you disclose 
expunged or sealed offenses, you will be required 
to remove them.

• If  you disclosed expunged or sealed charges on 
your law school application, redact them from 
your law school application before providing us 
with a copy. See our FAQs about how to redact 
your law school application.

• Offenses under an Order of  Non-Disclosure 
must not be disclosed, but the Board 
may consider such offenses.

• For felony criminal history, see Rule 4 for more 
information, and contact the Director of  
Investigations with questions.



Amending Your Law School Application

You may need to amend your law 
school application to include 

information about your criminal 
history or school disciplinary 

history. Take action as soon as 
possible to correct any 

deficiencies.

Your law school may have already 
provided you with instructions on 

how to amend your law school 
application. 

Board staff may also direct you to 
amend your law school 

application.

Provide us with a copy of your 
amendment and the law school's 

response.



Amending your Declaration

• If  you omitted required information, you must amend your Declaration.

• Board staff  may direct you to amend your Declaration.

• See our FAQs about how to amend your Declaration.

• Click Amend Application

Amend the correct section.
Click  Submit Amendment



Fitness

Fitness is the assessment of  mental and emotional 
health as it affects the competence of  a prospective 
lawyer.

The fitness required is present fitness.

The purpose of  this inquiry is to exclude persons with 
a mental or emotional illness or condition which would 
be likely to prevent the person from carrying out duties 
to clients, courts, or the profession.

The likelihood is determined by acts of  misconduct 
that are related to the mental illness or condition and 
not the diagnosis alone.



Fitness Questions
• 7.1 Conduct or Behavior
• Within the past 5 years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into 

question your ability to practice law in a competent, ethical, and professional manner?

• 7.2 Mitigation
• The purpose of  this inquiry is to determine the current fitness of  an applicant to practice law. 

The mere fact of  treatment, monitoring, or participation in a support group is not, in itself, a 
basis on which admission is denied; the Board of  Law Examiners encourages applicants who 
may benefit from assistance to seek it.

• Within the past 5 years, have you asserted any condition or impairment as a defense, in 
mitigation, or as an explanation for your conduct in the course of  any inquiry, 
investigation, or administrative or judicial proceeding by an educational institution, 
governmental agency, professional organization, or licensing authority; or in connection 
with an unemployment claim, employer discipline, or termination procedure?



Processing your Declaration

Once you submit your 
Declaration, you will receive 

an acknowledgement 
through ATLAS.

Your analyst will review 
your Declaration and 
post Missing Items 

notifications to your 
ATLAS user homepage. 

Investigation requires up to 
270 days (9 months)

You will receive Status 
Letters at least every 60 

days.

Log into your ATLAS 
account at least monthly 

to be sure you do not fail to 
respond to any requests for 

information.

Add 
noreply@ble.Texas.gov

as a safe sender.

If  you fail to respond to our 
requests for information, 

we will assess an additional 
$75 incomplete fee and may 
terminate your Declaration.

mailto:noreply@ble.Texas.gov


Your ATLAS user homepage
Messages

• Once you submit your Declaration, 
your file will be assigned to a Licensure 
Analyst. Your analyst's name will 
appear on your ATLAS user 
homepage.

• Use the blue "Create Message" button 
to send messages to your analyst.

• Messages are like emails, not chats.

• Example:
ANALYST
Your analyst is (first name)

Create Message



Your ATLAS user homepage
Missing Items

• Your analyst will post missing items with specific 
deadlines on the right side of  your ATLAS user 
homepage. Once you submit the missing item 
and the analyst has reviewed it, the item will be 
marked "Completed/Closed."

• If  necessary, send a message to 
request more time. The earlier in the 
investigation you do this, the more we can 
help you. We may ask you to provide 
proof  you requested the item.

Example:
• MISSING ITEMS

Fingerprinting Requirement -
[Completed/Closed]



Status Letters

will be sent at least every 
60 days to provide you 
with regular updates



Updating your Declaration

• When you complete your Declaration, you will certify that the information you 
disclosed is correct. You will also acknowledge your obligation to update your 
responses whenever there is an addition or a change to the information provided. 

• Contact information

• New arrests

• New school discipline

• Any other additions or changes to the information



End of  investigation

• With timely filing and your prompt cooperation, we can successfully resolve most 
issues and concerns, and certify your character and fitness.

• A notification will appear on your ATLAS user homepage.

• In some cases, staff  issue a negative preliminary determination letter (PDL) if  
significant issues of  concern to the Board were identified during our investigation.

• A notification will appear on your ATLAS user homepage.

• We will provide additional information about next steps if  you receive a PDL.

• We will update our character and fitness investigation when you file your bar exam 
application.



Good luck in law school!
Contact us with questions.

INFORMATION@BLE.TEXAS.GOV

ZOOM "OFFICE HOURS": 
(HTTPS://BLE.TEXAS.GOV/DECLARATION-
OFFICE-HOURS-SCHEDULE)

BLE.TEXAS.GOV

mailto:Information@ble.texas.gov
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