Checklist for UBE Transfer Applications from Texas Law Students

This checklist is for your convenience. Do not upload it. It is not a substitute for reading and
complying with the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas.

To submit your application

Instructions — Read. When you are done, a green checkmark will appear.

Application — Complete. When you are done, a green checkmark will appear.

Authorization and Release — Complete, then upload through the Upload Required
Documents feature.

Government-Issued ID — Upload a color scan through the Upload Required
Documents feature.

Submit Application and Pay Fees by the Deadline — Once you have completed
each step above, a green Submit button will appear. Click it and follow the prompts to
submit fees.

Required for Character & Fitness Investigation

Fingerprints — Complete the fingerprinting process. (If you were fingerprinted when
you filed your Declaration of Intent to Study Law, you do not need to be fingerprinted
again.)

Law School Application — For each law school you attended within the last 5 years
seeking a JD or other law degree, upload your law school application through the
Upload Required Documents feature. (If you provided this documentation when you
tiled your Declaration of Intent to Study Law, you do not need to provide it again. If
you transferred law schools since you filed your Declaration of Intention to Study
Law, upload your transfer law school application.)

Additional Information & Updates — Depending how you answered certain
questions in your application, you may need to upload additional required
documents. Review the Upload Required Documents page and upload all required
documentation. If Board staff requests additional information or documents,
immediately provide such information. You are obligated to amend your application
as needed so that your responses remain full, frank, true, and correct.

To be licensed

Birth Certificate or Other Rule 2(a)(5) Documentation — Upload a color
scan through the Upload Required Documents feature. (If you provided this
documentation when you filed your Declaration of Intent to Study Law, you
do not need to provide it again.)

JD Certification — Texas law schools provide this information directly to the BLE
beginning in January for the February bar exam and in June for the July bar exam. If



https://ble.texas.gov/rules
https://ble.texas.gov/deadlines
https://ble.texas.gov/fingerprint-information
https://ble.texas.gov/faq.action#151

you had not been awarded your JD by the time you received your admission ticket
tfor the exam, you sat for the exam under Rule 3(a)(3), and we must receive proof
trom your law school that you’ve been awarded your JD degree. You will be notified
if you are required to take action.

MPRE — Have your MPRE score of 85 or higher reported to us. See our FAQs for
more information.

Character & Fitness Approval — in most cases, the Board has 270 days to
complete its character and fitness investigation. For more information, please
see our Character & Fitness page.

Texas Law Course (TLC) — Please see our TLLC FAQs.

This checklist is for your convenience. Do not upload it.
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