Checklist for Declaration of Intention to Study Law for Texas Law Students

This checklist is for your convenience. Do not upload it. It is not a substitute for reading and complying with the <u>Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas</u>.

To submit your declaration	
	Instructions – Read. When you are done, a green checkmark will appear.
	Declaration – Complete. When you are done, a green checkmark will appear.
	Authorization and Release – Complete, then upload through the Upload Required Documents feature.
	Submit Application and Pay Fees by the Deadline – Once you have completed each step above, a green Submit button will appear. Click it and follow the prompts to submit fees.
Req	uired for Character & Fitness Investigation
	Fingerprints – Complete the <u>fingerprinting process</u> .
	Law School Application – For each law school you attended within the last 5 years seeking a JD or other law degree, upload your law school application through the Upload Required Documents feature. (If you transferred law schools since you filed your Declaration of Intention to Study Law, upload your transfer law school application.)
	Additional Information & Updates – Depending how you answered certain questions in your application, you may need to upload additional required documents. Review the Upload Required Documents page and upload all required documentation. If Board staff requests additional information or documents, immediately provide such information. You are obligated to amend your declaration as needed so that your responses remain full, frank, true, and correct.
To o	complete the processing of your declaration
	Birth Certificate or Other Rule 2(a)(5) Documentation – Upload a color scan through the Upload Required Documents feature.
	Character and Fitness Approval – The Board has 270 days to complete its character and fitness investigation. For more information, please see our Character & Fitness page.

This checklist is for your convenience. Do not upload it.